Julien Sublet:

Luthier and passionate.

Becoming a guitar maker has been a life long goal of mine. Ever since my childhood I have been fascinated by the guitar. This musical instrument spoke to me and as years go by, I want to learn more about the way it works and discover its soul.

This passion of mine has been a long time in the making. In fact, I was seven years old when I first met the guitar. I have grow up always having a guitar by my side. From this deep seeded interest came an urge to find out how and why a guitar becomes a guitar.

I was born in Geneva, Switzerland and soon after moved to Peron, a small town located in eastern France. After a earning my baccalauréat in literature, I studied to become a cabinet maker in Geneva. This experience gave me the opportunity to improve my woodworking skills and taught me that wood is a living material.

 

After becoming a certified cabinet maker I decided to follow my passion. I enrolled in the National Luthiery school located in Quebec City. There was much for me to discover in Canada while I studied at one of the most state-of-the-art facilities for guitar making in North America. During my 3 year program,  I learned how to fabricate and build  guitars that allowed me to turn fantasies into realities while using the rules of acoustic building. I have taken many courses that have enabled me to develop my own design and aesthetic lines.

Today, I want to use my knowledge and skills to give musicians the ability to discover their potential and the possibilities of their instrument. Throughout this journey, I want to keep on learning and marveling at the boundless possibilities of the guitar.

Luthier guitare Julien Sublet, atelier de fabricatin et réparation. / Guitarmaker Julien Sublet, handcrafted guitars.
Luthier guitare Julien Sublet, atelier de fabricatin et réparation. / Guitarmaker Julien Sublet, handcrafted guitars.

Julien Sublet:

Luthier et passionné.

Devenir luthier a toujours été mon objectif. J'ai commencé à jouer de la guitare très jeune. Cet instrument m'a tout de suite parlé et les années passant j'ai voulu en savoir plus sur son fonctionnement et sur ce qui lui donne son âme.

Ma passion pour la guitare remonte à longtemps, en effet mon premier contact avec l’instrument s’est fait lorsque j’avais 7 ans. Je n’ai depuis cessé de grandir avec une guitare à mes côtés. C’est de cette passion qu’est né un désir de comprendre ; comprendre comment et pourquoi la guitare vibre.

Je suis originaire de Suisse. Après avoir fait un baccalauréat en littérature, j’ai suivi une formation d’ébéniste à Genève. Cela m’a permis de développer ma technique de travail du bois ainsi que d’intégrer les rudiments dans la compréhension de la matière en tant que medium vivant.

 

C’est donc naturellement qu’à la fin de ma formation, j’ai décidé de m’inscrire à l’École Nationale de Lutherie de Québec. J’ai quitté l’Europe pour découvrir les merveilles du Canada et de l’Amérique du Nord en même temps que je me plongeais dans un des bassins les plus dynamiques de la lutherie contemporaine. En suivant un cursus de 3 années, j’ai appris à concevoir, à créer et à réaliser des instruments qui me correspondent tout en ayant conscience des bases de la lutherie. À travers différents cours d’art et de réflexions personnelles, j’ai pu préciser ma signature et mes aspirations.

Désormais, je souhaite mettre mes connaissances et mon savoir-faire au service des musiciens désireux de découvrir les possibilités presque sans limites de la guitare tout en continuant à découvrir, à apprendre et à m’émerveiller devant la richesse de cet instrument.